0%

How to Get Your Facebook Privacy Back: 10 Tweaks for 2019

2019-07-25 13:25

Some Facebook users are worried about privacy policies recently applied by this media giant. Today we try to figure out ways to limit the ability of this social network, as well as other companies to get your personal data from the profile. We focused on the most effective tools while there are lots of techniques to achieve privacy, but not all of them work. Meet ten 100% tweaks for your Facebook privacy dominant position.

#1: Keep your phone number in secret

Phone buttons picture

It is kind of obvious advice to be fair, but some people don’t even bother when posting their phone numbers in the Facebook bio. We do not recommend to do so, because your phone number can be used in different scam schemes which you don’t want to get involved in. You can use this info only for two-factor authentication provided by Facebook to help you secure your page.

Still, if you have turned this option on via your mobile phone, Facebook can add this info on your page automatically. If you want to delete your phone number from Facebook, check the next pages:

  1. Two-Factor Authentication page, which could be found in the Security and Login paragraph.
  2. Mobile paragraph, situated in Settings.
  3. Contact Info, which could be found when proceeding to Manage Page > Page > About.
  4. About paragraph on your profile.

#2: Use another way of two-factor authentication setup

Yes, there is a way to use two-factor authentication without using your phone number. Just download a free smartphone authentication application to generate login codes for Facebook. On the site itself, go to the Settings page, choose Security and Login, and then Two-Factor Authentication page where you can select the app type of authentication.

#3: Try to manage your Friends List

There are a lot of Facebook options which can help you protect your page info from unwanted views. You can choose between “Only me” and “Friends” parameters depending on the level of security you wish to see eventually. Choosing the “Friends” option leads to the fact that you also have to delete unwanted people from your friend list. And also, this method helps to reduce the number of unnecessary posts from your feed.

#4: Cut down Facebook tracking activity

The Facebook website uses a huge variety of ways to track you when you are surfing the Internet. However, there are some plug-in tools whose main purpose is to block tracking by Facebook and disable the malware. The best of these plug-ins are Disconnect, Privacy Badger, Adblock Plus, Ghostery, and uBlock.

Note: Some browsers (e.g., Mozilla Firefox) blocks Facebook and other websites tracking activities by default.

#5: Manage your authorized devices

You can check all devices or browsers allowed by Facebook, including the hypothetical hacker devices. To see such info, go to your Settings, select Security & Login option, Where You’re Logged In, and then click on See More button to open the full list. If there are some unwanted devices or browsers, just log them out manually. You can also manage the alert feature to get a message each time someone tries to get to your page from an unknown source. To do so, choose Setting Up Extra Security option on the same page, and then go to Get Alerts so you can edit the preferred way of how you want to get noticed.

#6: Switch off the location tracking option

A part of the map

Such things as Messenger, Facebook application, WhatsApp, Instagram, and Facebook website can gather information about your location. You can turn off this feature in your phone settings. In the case of Android, just go to Apps and Notifications and change the permission for each Facebook-associated application. If you are an iOS user, go to Setting, select the Privacy option, and then choose Location Services. Click on each Facebook-connected app to put restrictions.

#7: Deal with face recognition feature

Facebook uses face studying technology to ease the tagging process. The program can automatically identify your friend on the photo or video and suggest you the right person (creepy, isn’t it?) So, if you don’t want this feature to be used against you, on the website go to Settings > Face Recognition Settings and switch to no. In the case of Facebook application, click on the horizontal-lines icon on the upper right on Android (lower right on iOS devices), select Settings and Privacy, then go to Privacy Shortcuts, and in the Privacy section, select Control face recognition.

#8: Secure your contacts’ info

As you may know, Facebook can not only use your information but also offer you to share your phone contacts data. We do not recommend to give such permission to Facebook, because this protects your friends, family members, or colleagues from having their data flushed on the Facebook servers. In the case you already gave such rights to Facebook, you can still turn this option off. This will not save already given information, but prevent Facebook from continuing such activity. Tap the three-horizontal-lines icon on the upper right (Android) or the lower right (iPhone), scroll to and tap Settings, scroll to Media and Contacts, tap Upload contacts, and turn it off.

To do so, go to your Facebook mobile application. Click on the three-horizontal-lines icon and select Settings options, then find Media and Contacts, select Upload contacts, and turn this feature off.

#9: Learn how to use encrypted conversations in messenger

Even in the case, you have nothing to hide, you still might be wondering how to keep your private conversations in secret. Nobody loves to think of some third party reading through your chats. Although Facebook Messenger has an encrypted chats’ option, and if you want to enable encryption for your messaging, begin a new conversation, click the word “Secret” (iOS) at the top right of the screen or toggle the lock icon for Android devices. You can also make such messages to disappear. To do so, in Secret Conversations select the timer icon in the text-entry field to set the expiration time ranging from five seconds to one day (both for Android and iOS devices).

#10: Get rid of connected applications and websites

According to Facebook rules, it can let some third-parties gather your personal information. Data can be transmitted to different applications, commercial platforms, and websites. Such entities can acquire your name, profile photo, date of your birthday, email address, etc. You have connected some websites and applications with Facebook, and you can disconnect all the unwanted ones in your page settings. To do so, go to Settings and click on Apps and Websites. There you can find the full list and disconnect unwanted sites or apps just by clicking the checkbox icon and removing them. And if you want to prevent this thing happening in the future, find the topic “Apps, Websites and Games” on the same page, and select the Edit button to turn off this function. Note: doing so, you’ll also block requests from friends to sign up for Facebook games they play (which is a great thing as nobody loves them).

Conclusion

Privacy is the key right of each person, which is abused too often in modern society. And in the vast majority of cases, you don’t even know that you give such permission to some parties just by clicking some stupid button. We hope that this article will help you to restrict Facebook powers and retain your freedom.

Was this review helpful?

Thank you for your feedback!
0 % of people found this helpful

Leave a comment